Skip to Main Content

Continuing Education - Examiners of Pilots

Continuing Professional Competency (CPC)


Once every five years, a licensed pilot must satisfactorily complete a course approved by the Board or a course offered at an institute approved by the Board in each of the following subject areas:

(1) Automatic Radar Piloting Aids (ARPA);

(2) Radar Operator Renewal (ROR);

(3) Bridge Resource Management for Pilots (BRMP);

(4) Differential Global Positioning System (DGPS); and

(5) E-Navigation.

At the request of a pilot, the Board may give the pilot an additional year beyond the normal five-year time period on one continuing education cycle to extend the renewal date of the ARPA or ROR so that the dates are coincident for the purposes of federal licensing requirements.


View the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR).